Instagram happiness

Every morning when my alarm clock wails, my fingers immediately turn off the sound and find their way onto Instagram.

With one eye closed, I scroll through the images I have chosen to show on my screen and up until a couple weeks ago, I would usually feel a stab of pain near my ego. Because these photos are literally what I see when I wake up in the morning, they have an impact on how my day is going to pan out. Now, I love celebrities and Victoria Secret models, but my life is so far from all of that glam (especially when I’m under the covers in my pajamas) that I would begin to feel somewhat inferior. I would envy the beach homes and the gorgeous clothing wrapped around their figures.

After scrolling through all the photos and setting my phone down on the pillow next to me, even though in my mind I was planning my day out, internally, these amazing, unrealistic photos for myself would stay there- influencing me- for the whole morning and perhaps even into the afternoon.

On one particular morning I woke up and saw a woman looking unbelievable in her bathing suit and at that moment I thought that I needed to go work out. My very first concrete image that morning brought me to the conclusion that I needed to focus my whole day on molding my body based on an image that may or may not have been Photoshopped.

My mind began to process this and I had a beautiful realization- I was in charge of what was fed to my mind through Instagram. I can choose to follow and unfollow whomever I please. It’s not because I hated them, it’s not because I was mad, it was because I knew it was a healthy decision for both my body and mind. I went through the people I followed and deleted over 60 accounts.

This morning when I scrolled through my Instagram, I was flooded with images that only brought me happiness and healthy inspiration. Photos my friends had posted, healthy meals, gorgeous landscapes and amazing photos that made me remember there’s so much more than just me and my life right now, in this bed, from NatGeo.

I feel as though my Instagram is a “healthy” place to go now, a safe haven of photographs that influence me in the greatest way possible. I finally found my Instagram happiness.

Leave a Reply

